District Information

London West District is comprised of more than 120 clubs, the largest district of the 22 councils which form Cycling Time Trials (CTT).

It has a distinguished history of involvement with the affairs of the Road Time Trials Council (RTTC), the precursor of Cycling Time Trials. Will Townsend from London West was National Chairman of the RTTC for 23 years and is one of two London West officials to have been awarded the RTTC Badge of Honour. Will was instrumental in the formation of the MoT Regulations Relating to Time Trials which were drafted in 1960 and which effectively legalised cycling time trials on the open road.

London West was the first of the RTTC Districts to enforce the provision of an event headquarters for open time trials within the district and is the only one of the 22 District Councils to have adopted the practice of bulk submission of Police Notification forms, thereby saving promoters of club and open events (and doubtless the hard-pressed officials in three Police divisions) from the task of submitting them individually, no mean task with several hundred events in the District of London West.

With so many member clubs, many of them promoting one or more of the many events  on more than 100 different courses, the overseeing of the time trials programme in the area is a complex task and doubtless those racing men and women who will take part during the season will be appreciative of the altruism shown by the members of the London West District Committee.